EXCELLENT MEDICAL ADVICE (from DOCTORS McHUGH, FIELDS, OPPENHEIM, and WALLER)

YOUR SPEED

Yes, I know we are all important people with critically important time-sensitive tasks to accomplish, but still I inquire:

What’s the rush?

Where’s the fire?

Who’s chasing you?

TAKE IT EASY.

Instead of my telling you, here is the message in musical form . . . delivered by the best shamans I know.

It was snowing this morning: I suspect that a good number of the accidents I saw were caused by hurry.  My students, eager for the semester to be over, rush through their final explications and are then puzzled when their grades are low.  Life is meant to be lived in a leisurely way — a steady rocking medium tempo.

TAKE IT EASY.  Thanks to Jimmy McHugh (melody); Dorothy Fields and George Oppenheim (lyrics); Fats Waller and his Rhythm (1935).

May your happiness increase!

4 responses to “EXCELLENT MEDICAL ADVICE (from DOCTORS McHUGH, FIELDS, OPPENHEIM, and WALLER)

  1. After listening to this, I decided to stay home tonight.

  2. Michael Burgevin

    Another winner! Start the day the Jazz Lives / MS way! I’m thunkin’ that’s Herman Autrey in there and maybe Rudy Powell… dummer Harry Dial? Whoever THAT drummer is he’s marvelous… tap tap tap with the brushes… 4 beats to the measure… “Say It Simple’ as Jack T. once sang. I used to do this with Kenny Davern (tap tap tap, that is) when he’d play at Brew’s on 34th… he hated it… ALWAYS wanted the (2) conventional brush swishes and TAP, tap- tap to the measure… no variation! Dear Kenny- what a character he was. I miss all them guys. Lorna- that’s a great reply!

  3. Fats Waller (p,vcl) with: Herman Autrey (tp) Rudy Powell (cl,as) James Smith (g) Charlie Turner (b) Arnold Boling (d) Camden, N.J., June 24, 1935

  4. Michael Burgevin

    I can see them all (in my imagination) meeting there at the oriiginal “Penn Station” – and heading down to Camden together for the date – maybe in their late twenties early thirties- all gods, they were… (Thank you, Michael)

Leave a Reply

