THINKING AHEAD . . . . TO SAN DIEGO 2011

I suppose it’s childlike, but as my November birthday approaches, I still think, “Well, what would you like for your birthday?”  (I talk to myself, but often it’s silently.)  Gone are the days when I wanted a new cassette recorder or a particular record.

Having escaped from several cocoons, I now think much bigger, and my current wish has the Beloved and myself going to San Diego for the 32nd Annual San Diego Thanksgiving Dixieland Jazz Festival!  (Their website is www.dixielandjazzfestival.org.)

It takes place during what I think of as Thanksgiving weekend — Nov. 23 – 27, 2011, and it’s held in the Town & Country Resort and Convention Center, 500 Hotel Circle North (I-8 & SR-163) San Diego.  A five-day all events badge is $95.00.

All that’s necessary but not pulse-pounding information.  Here’s the real stuff — the featured bands and guest artists.  If I were to decode the list below because some of the band names might be unfamiliar, I get excited about Bryan Shaw, Howard Miyata, John Reynolds, Ralf Reynolds, Marc Caparone, Katie Cavera, Sue Fischer, Clint Baker, Tim Laughlin, Hal Smith, Marty Eggers, Bob Havens, Chris Dawson, Leon Oakley, Connie Jones, Justin Au, Carl Sonny Leyland, Stephanie Trick . . . and many more.  (Apologies to those friends whose names I’ve left out through ignorance.)

Here are some of the bands!

Cornet Chop Suey • Red Skunk Jipzee Swing • Dave Bennett Quartet

High Sierra JB • Reynolds Bros. Rhythm Rascals • Titanic JB

Yerba Buena Stompers • Uptown Lowdown • Grand Dominion JB

Tim Laughlin/Connie Jones & the New Orleans All Stars

Night Blooming Jazzmen • Sue Palmer and her Motel Swing

Katie Cavera • Carl Sonny Leyland • Stephanie Trick

High Society JB • Dixie Express JB • Red Pepper JB

Heliotrope Ragtime Orchestra • Mission Bay High Dixie Band

Dick Williams’ JazzSea Jams • And more to come…

Now if I can just explain to JetBlue that the Beloved and I get their special Birthday rates, we’re all set . . . .

Look at http://www.dixielandjazzfestival.org/pdfs/flyer.pdf to learn more!

One response to “THINKING AHEAD . . . . TO SAN DIEGO 2011

  1. Genial…!!!….Impresionante….!!!….la mejor de las suertes por la música que amamos….VIVA EL JAZZ CLÁSICO !!!
    http://HOTANDBLACK-BAND.BLOGSPOT.COM

    Desde Argentina…Hot and Black band

Leave a comment