“WHERE THE WINTRY WINDS DON’T BLOW”: CONNIE JONES SINGS AND PLAYS at the SAN DIEGO JAZZ FEST (Nov. 29, 2014)

I first heard and saw Connie Jones play cornet and sing late in 2010, and I was entranced by his quiet majesty, his subtle grace.  Other cornet players make more noise; their horns point to the sky — but they don’t create beauty the way Mister Jones does.  And although he doesn’t look the part of a “boy singer,” he sings with more conviction and more fluid rhythmic delicacy than most singers who do only that.

Connie performed in six sets with Tim Laughlin’s New Orleans All Stars at the San Diego Jazz Fest over Thanksgiving weekend.  One of the many highlights of that weekend was his performance of TISHOMINGO BLUES, written in 1917 by Spencer Williams, referring to the Mississippi town of that name.

He’s joined here by Tim, clarinet; Doug Finke, trombone; Chris Dawson, piano; Katie Cavera, guitar; Marty Eggers, string bass; Hal Smith, drums:

I was delighted by this performance when I saw it, and it has become one of those videos I can happily watch and listen to repeatedly.  I hope it affects you the same way.  I feel honored to be in the same space as Connie Jones, who shines his light so generously on us.  Long may he prosper.

May your happiness increase!

3 responses to ““WHERE THE WINTRY WINDS DON’T BLOW”: CONNIE JONES SINGS AND PLAYS at the SAN DIEGO JAZZ FEST (Nov. 29, 2014)

  1. Connie recorded Tishomingo Blues with Tim Laughlin on Tim’s CD called If Dreams Come True. I highly recommend it.

  2. Thanks for the reminder: it is a wonderful disc.

  3. I can listen to this repeatedly also, NM…and I am.,, Oh my..This is the blues and jazz played, and sung just the way I like it. I may not have met all of the musicians, but I’ve heard them before, and I am blessed to hear them now. A wonderful post Michael. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

