MAKING THE NIGHT SWING: TERRY BLAINE and MARK SHANE in NEW PALTZ, NEW YORK (August 8, 2015)

BLAINE SHANE cover

I’m often reluctant to use JAZZ LIVES to announce one-time gigs . . . but any appearance by singer Terry Blaine and pianist Mark Shane is so special and so gratifying that I am bending my rules.  (The photograph above is from their wonderful and aptly-named SWINGTIME DUET CD.)

I found out that Terry and Mark will be making their debut at a perfect summer venue, the Upstairs on 9 Cafe at the New Paltz Golf Course — located at 215 Huguenot Street, New Paltz, New York: phone 845-255-1960.  This concert will take place on Saturday, August 8, from 7-10 PM.  Terry tells me there are spectacular views from the deck, great food and drinks, and that the place is warm and comfortable.  It might be a touch too warm for Mark to dress so nattily, but he will arrive suitably attired.  As will Terry.

Who are they and what do they sound like?  Hear, hear.

Exhibit A.  Exhibit B. Exhibit C.

To quote the lyric of SAY IT SIMPLE, “If that don’t get it, then forget it for now.”  I have more free time than most mortals, and I live closer to New Paltz than many of my readers, but I’m driving up there . . . I wouldn’t miss this.  You come too.

May your happiness increase!

Leave a Reply

