“THOSE DELICIOUS BLUES”: HARRY ALLEN, DAN BLOCK, DAN BARRETT, EHUD ASHERIE, FRANK TATE, RICKY MALICHI at the ALLEGHENY JAZZ PARTY (September 10, 2015)

delicious fruit

I don’t know their name, but they are delicious.

What I mean is . . . here is a nearly eleven-minute improvised blues performed by six absolute masters of the idiom at the 2015 Allegheny Jazz Party (September 10, 2015): Dan Block, Harry Allen, tenor saxophone; Dan Barrett, trombone; Ehud Asherie, piano (with all sorts of delicious jazz in-jokes); Frank Tate, string bass; Ricky Malichi, drums.

Is the overall ambiance Basie-esque, Ellingtonian, Four Brothers, or do the riffs come from Blue Note hard bop, Gene Ammons, Al and Zoot?  I don’t know and I am sure that someone will leap right in and inform me.  But until that day, I will happily listen in a state of deep swing gratitude.

Such delightful interludes happen all the time at the Allegheny Jazz Party.  You should know.

(And, as an aside, I picked the graphic at top of green fruits because it was one of the few inoffensive ones that emerged when I idly entered “delicious” into Google Images.)

May your happiness increase!

4 responses to ““THOSE DELICIOUS BLUES”: HARRY ALLEN, DAN BLOCK, DAN BARRETT, EHUD ASHERIE, FRANK TATE, RICKY MALICHI at the ALLEGHENY JAZZ PARTY (September 10, 2015)

  1. Don "Zoot" Conner

    All I know is this had to be the most swinging performance of all the performances you’ve spoon-fed us from what was a terrific set.Ehud’s interpolations killed me,particularly “little boy blue,” which knocked me off my chair.The two fine sax men and Dan Barrett on”bone” were superb.Al and Zoot would return from wherever they are to hear this group.Are there any more left,Michael?

  2. That’s it, Zoot. Twenty-six minutes of bliss: SEPTEMBER SONG, BROADWAY, and what I now know to be SPLANKY. I’m thrilled they exist!

  3. Bill Gallagher

    Lucky for those who were there. Lucky for us you were there, Michael. For some time now, I have thought that Harry Allen’s style has been drifting toward Ben Webster, but on this number he sounds like Paul Gonsalves.

Leave a Reply

