A HIGHLIGHT OF 2015: THE DAWN LAMBETH TRIO at the SAN DIEGO JAZZ FEST (DAWN LAMBETH, MARC CAPARONE, RAY SKJELBRED, JEFF HAMILTON)

DAWN headshot

I think that any year where you’re breathing for twelve months is a banner year, and 2015 felt good to me, even with potholes and road repairs.  A wonderful musical highlight was the double appearance of the Dawn Lambeth Trio at the San Diego Jazz Fest.  Initially, the trio was Dawn, vocals; Marc Caparone, cornet; Ray Skjelbred, piano; then they were joined for the final numbers by Jeff Hamilton, drums.  I will — as a present to myself as well as you — repost the first selections of the set:

Eddie Condon’s LIZA (Ray and Marc):

GETTING SOME FUN OUT OF LIFE (the Trio):

I MUST HAVE THAT MAN:

WHEN I TAKE MY SUGAR TO TEA:

THE RIVER’S TAKING CARE OF ME (Marc, Ray):

EV’RYONE SAYS ‘I LOVE YOU’ (Marc, Ray):

and four new highlights —

THE ONE I LOVE (BELONGS TO SOMEBODY ELSE):

IF I HAD YOU:

I’VE GOT MY FINGERS CROSSED (Marc, Ray, Jeff):

THREE LITTLE WORDS (the Quartet):

The Trio (and Quartet) is setting up its touring schedule for 2016.  Club-owners, party-givers, and festival promoters take heed!

Thanks again to Paul Daspit and Hal Smith for making this wonderful dream come true.

May your happiness increase!

6 responses to “A HIGHLIGHT OF 2015: THE DAWN LAMBETH TRIO at the SAN DIEGO JAZZ FEST (DAWN LAMBETH, MARC CAPARONE, RAY SKJELBRED, JEFF HAMILTON)

  1. Great videos. Thanks. I have previously attended the SD jazzfest over the Thanksgiving weekend, but not in the past few years. This video was especially meaningful for me. Thanks for the excellent work you do making a wonderful jazz experience for us.

  2. This was a treat X 3! The sweet voice of Dawn. The pure joy of Marc, and the genius of Ray at the piano. Your videos have been wonderful, NM. Thank you.

  3. Don "Zoot" Conner

    I liked your postings by these fine cats-I LOVE the reposts.Great stuff,Michael.

  4. Yes, great videos! I had to dig out the original of “The River’s Taking Care of Me” by Henry “Red” Allen. I have it on CD but really didn’t appreciate it, which is often the case when 20 plus songs by one artist start glazing over the eyes or rather the ears. Anyway, both versions are gems!

  5. Pingback: ANOTHER HIGHLIGHT OF 2015: THE DAWN LAMBETH TRIO (The Second Set) at SAN DIEGO, NOVEMBER 28, 2015: RAY SKJELBRED, MARC CAPARONE | JAZZ LIVES

  6. Pingback: ANOTHER HIGHLIGHT OF 2015: THE DAWN LAMBETH TRIO (The Second Set, Concluded) at SAN DIEGO, NOVEMBER 28, 2015: RAY SKJELBRED, MARC CAPARONE | JAZZ LIVES

Leave a Reply

