AT THE GOVERNOR’S BALL (ALMOST): TIM LAUGHLIN, CONNIE JONES, DOUG FINKE, CHRIS DAWSON, MARTY EGGERS,KATIE CAVERA, HAL SMITH

TIM LAUGHLIN

On Facebook two mornings ago, I read Tim Laughlin’s nice news:

Proud to be invited to perform at LA Governor John Bel Edwards’ Inauguration Ball last night in Baton Rouge.  My All-Stars include Connie Jones on cornet, Charlie Halloran on trombone, Amy Sharpe on banjo, Matt Perrine on tuba and Hal Smith on drums.

And here are two pictures from that celebration:

TIM L at BALL one

and

TIM L at BALL two

Now, my first thought was “What a band!”  And my second was, “I don’t know anything about Governor Edwards, but he has excellent taste.  A good omen for Louisiana.”  A few minutes later, my darker side emerged, “I would have liked to be there.”  Of course, reason took over immediately as I contemplated the unlikeliness of Governor Edwards inviting me — and my camera — up front to video the music.  The thought of not hearing that band was disconcerting.

Once I regained my equilibrium, I thought of something that would cheer me, and it might have the same effect on you.  Here are three previously unseen videos from the 2014 San Diego Jazz Fest, November 28, 2014, featuring Tim, Connie, and Hal, with Doug Finke, trombone; Katie Cavera, guitar; Chris Dawson, piano; Marty Eggers, string bass.

JUBILEE (for Louis, by Hoagy, and suitably celebratory):

SI TU VOIS MA MERE (celebrating Sidney Bechet):

MY BABY JUST CARES FOR ME (simply because it’s an exquisite performance):

The next time you have a great band in the Governor’s Mansion, dear Governor Edwards, think of me.  I and my camera can be very unobtrusive.

May your happiness increase!

One response to “AT THE GOVERNOR’S BALL (ALMOST): TIM LAUGHLIN, CONNIE JONES, DOUG FINKE, CHRIS DAWSON, MARTY EGGERS,KATIE CAVERA, HAL SMITH

  1. Pingback: BY POPULAR DEMAND: TIM LAUGHLIN, CONNIE JONES, DOUG FINKE, CHRIS DAWSON, KATIE CAVERA, MARTY EGGERS, HAL SMITH at the SAN DIEGO JAZZ FEST (Nov. 29, 2014) | JAZZ LIVES

Leave a Reply

