“WOULD YOU CARE TO SWING?”: JON-ERIK KELLSO, SCOTT ROBINSON, MATT MUNISTERI, PAT O’LEARY at THE EAR INN (March 20, 2016)

EAR INN 2012

The EarRegulars and The Ear Inn (the latter at 326 Spring Street, Soho, New York — pictured above in October 2012) offer us sweet rewards.  The Inn will soon celebrate its two hundredth anniversary; the EarRegulars are younger but no less beloved.  On Sunday nights at The Ear, a small, gloriously congenial group of musicians gathers to remind us how fine being alive — with ears — can be.  The EarRegulars are led by trumpeter Jon-Erik Kellso, and on March 20, 2016, Jon was joined by his brilliant colleague, Matt Munisteri, guitar; Scott Robinson, tenor saxophone (with the delicious sounds of the mellophone added on later); Pat O’Leary, string bass.

The EarRegulars can tussle in swingtime with the very best, but that Sunday the mood was more gently ruminative: rather than abducting us by force, they wooed and persuaded.  “Hey, do you have a free evening?  Come along with us for sweet swinging music.  You’ll love it.”  As we do.

OUR MONDAY DATE:

BLUE TURNING GRAY OVER YOU:

TEA FOR TWO:

A note about Jon-Erik’s horn, which not only sounds beautiful but has a beautiful personal connection, as he explains: “That horn was my first, and was my dad’s.  A Martin Handcraft Imperial.  About 1934, my dad bought it new as a kid with money earned working in his father’s gas station/garage in Detroit.  I messed it up in high school marching band, and it sat in a closet in my mom’s house all these years.  I recently had it fixed up, to honor my dad’s memory and have it as a memento, and lo and behold, it plays great now!”

It certainly does.  I think we are privileged to share the planet with these musicians, who so generously give of themselves . . . and not on Sunday nights only.  We live in a Golden Age, if we are only wise enough to recognize it.

More to come.

May your happiness increase!

6 responses to ““WOULD YOU CARE TO SWING?”: JON-ERIK KELLSO, SCOTT ROBINSON, MATT MUNISTERI, PAT O’LEARY at THE EAR INN (March 20, 2016)

  1. Nancie Beaven

    Oh how I miss Sunday nights at the Ear Inn!! Thanks to you, dear Michael, I feel like I am, just missing the beer and Chicken Marsala!

  2. Later on, turn the computer volume up and eat dinner in front of the monitor. It’s not quite the same thing, but it reaches all the way to Ohio. Happy Easter!

  3. It also reaches IL. and I am very grateful. Thank you so much my dear nephew for keeping the music in my life.

  4. jonerikkellso

    I’d like to give credit to my trusty brass repairman, Josh Landress, who worked wonders on this old horn. I jammed the mouthpiece into the horn something awful, and my HS band director thought he could get it out, but he made it much worse, twisting the horn up and basically welding the piece into the horn. I was so upset and embarrassed by this that it went into a closet at my Mom’s for many years, as I said.
    Not having many of my dad’s things to remember him by, I thought it was time to at least make this horn presentable again so I could look at it with fond memories rather than feeling like a schmuck.
    Josh not only made her look more lovely than I’d ever seen, but put her back into fantastic playing condition, better than I’d remembered.
    Josh has THE Manhattan brass repair shop these days, as well as the best stocked Brass store for horns in town, new and old, and brass accoutrements, and even horns he custom makes.
    He also now rents out rooms for rehearsals and lessons and practicing at a very reasonable rate. I can’t say enough good things about Josh. http://www.jlandressbrass.com/

  5. Pingback: “WOULD YOU CARE TO SWING?” (Part Two): JON-ERIK KELLSO, SCOTT ROBINSON, MATT MUNISTERI, PAT O’LEARY at THE EAR INN (March 20, 2016) | JAZZ LIVES

  6. Pingback: “WOULD YOU CARE TO SWING?” (Part Three): JON-ERIK KELLSO, SCOTT ROBINSON, MATT MUNISTERI, PAT O’LEARY, and ELDAR TSALIKOV at THE EAR INN (March 20, 2016) | JAZZ LIVES

Leave a Reply

