AT THE END OF A COLORADO RAINBOW: CARL SONNY LEYLAND, CLINT BAKER, JEFF HAMILTON (2011, 2016)

I report with glee and trepidation that I am going to be in Colorado for the 2016 Evergreen Jazz Festival on Friday. The trepidation has nothing to do with music, but arises because of the details that emerge in even the least complicated travel.  But the rewards at the end of the rainbow — a Colorado double rainbow — are even more immense.

Double rainbow, Evergreen, Colorado, 2014. Photograph by Michael Steinman

Double rainbow, Evergreen, Colorado, 2014. Photograph by Michael Steinman

One such reward is multiple opportunities to hear three of my favorite musicians: Carl Sonny Leyland, piano / vocal; Clint Baker, string bass and perhaps other instruments of mass pleasure; Jeff Hamilton, drums.

They will be appearing throughout the Festival, but before it starts they will be creating seismic happiness at a barn concert on Thursday night: details here. At this concert there will be dancing.  I will bring back videos, I promise . . . but just to get you in the mood, here are several I shot at a California swing dance on August 20, 2011, a Wednesday Night Hop in Mountain View.

I knew less about videoing then, so it took me a while to get courageous at the start of LADY BE GOOD, but the music is always there:

and . . .

and . . . .

These three heroes have the rollicking force of the Thirties Basie band in full cry.  And they use their powers for good.

I know that some of you can’t get up to Colorado on this short notice, and I understand.  However, I see that Carl’s trio is booked for the 2017 Evergreen Jazz Festival . . . so that gives everyone time to make arrangements.

May your happiness increase!

2 responses to “AT THE END OF A COLORADO RAINBOW: CARL SONNY LEYLAND, CLINT BAKER, JEFF HAMILTON (2011, 2016)

  1. Robert Burch

    Michael,

    Have a wonderful festival. That is one festival that Vonne Anne and I have not added to our annual itinerary.. We may consider it for 2018. I look forward to your report back and of course your ever present videos.

    Have a great trip and hope fully we will see you on here is Northern Calif one day,

    Bob

  2. I hope you have a wonderful time, dear nephew. I have been listening to Carl Sonny Leyland most of the day. (tapes I recorded off of CDs..I played along) What fun!! He is one of my heroes also, I enjoyed the magic of these three awesome musicians tremendously on here today!!

Leave a Reply

