AN ANCIENT RECORD, IN IMPERFECT CONDITION, PLAYED BACK PRIMITIVELY ON OLD-FASHIONED EQUIPMENT, BUT THE MUSIC COMES THROUGH: “THREE’S A CROWD” (October 1938: Paul Ricci, Carl Kress, Jerry Sears)

Although I am glued to my computer for many of my waking hours, I am also fond of the old ways, especially when they work.  I could learn, no doubt, how to connect my ancient four-speed school phonograph (an eBay purchase) to my computer and, through software, create an mp3 file . . .  etc.  But the music is more important than the technology, so I present this primitive video of some delicious music.  “Three’s A Crowd” — Jerry Sears, piano; Carl Kress, guitar; Paul Ricci, clarinet — recorded six sides for the Bluebird label in October 1938.  They have not, to my knowledge, been reissued at any time.

I bought this disc for a dollar plus tax in Petaluma, California (in mid-2014) and enjoyed it so much I shipped it back to New York.  It is possible that it was a jukebox item, for ANYTHING FOR YOU is more worn than DALLAS BLUES, but that is mere speculation.  These videos are highly imperfect: you might hear the traffic outside my window, one floor down, the sound of the radiator pipes, and other noises — it’s even possible that Autumn, the anxious terrier across the hall who misses her parents, might have made some sound.  However, if you were to come to my apartment and listen to the record, these are the human and mechanical noises that you would also encounter.  Kindly address all complaints to the Customer Service Office, located to the right of the water cooler.

 

and Claude Hopkins’ theme:

Life is imperfect.  We are imperfect.  Music, however, comes as close to perfect as we will ever know.  Thanks to Nick Rossi, scholar and roving artist, for the inspiration.

May your happiness increase!

4 responses to “AN ANCIENT RECORD, IN IMPERFECT CONDITION, PLAYED BACK PRIMITIVELY ON OLD-FASHIONED EQUIPMENT, BUT THE MUSIC COMES THROUGH: “THREE’S A CROWD” (October 1938: Paul Ricci, Carl Kress, Jerry Sears)

  1. A new one on me! Terrific tempos, lovely music.

  2. Goodness! To stump Sager is a rare event in my country. Yes, the tempo for DALLAS is especially nice and quite unusual. (Most performances are too fast: one of my hobby-horses.)

  3. For some reason I love the scratchy sound of old 78 recordings. If only your radiator pipes had recognized the tempos…. I find it charming they had the last word on “I Would Do Anything for You.”

  4. Carl Spencer

    Hi Michael Just a note. A program called EZ Audio Converter, is a very simple one to use. I have an ION Profile Pro USB record deck, although it is not a 78 speed player, just 45 and 33. It also has audio Line In (mini-jack) socket, so for 78s so with your electric 4 speed deck, I presume you might also have a Line Out lead or socket? Pop it into the input at the rear of the ION deck, and it will utilise whatever gizmo works with the deck. Your USB lead mates it up with your computer where the EZ program is waiting. Its very simple, tells you what to do each step. Best wishes Carl

Leave a Reply

