DAN MORGENSTERN RECALLS FIFTY-SECOND STREET, SIDNEY BECHET, DICK WELLSTOOD, KENNY DAVERN, ALONZO LEVISTER, KANSAS FIELDS, and MORE (April 21, 2017)

Here is another unique interlude generously offered to us by Dan Morgenstern. I’ve posted earlier segments here and here — with immense pleasure.

In pursuit of the fine surprising stories that have delighted us so, I’d asked Dan to recall his experiences on Fifty-Second Street, slightly after that street’s legendary height . . . and here’s what he recalled, with portraits of Sidney Bechet, Alonzo Levister, Kenny Davern, and Dick Wellstood among others.

I will have the mental-emotional image of a set-long Bechet / Dickenson blues forever.  And since Dan was close to both Kenny and Dick, here’s a wonderful performance, little-known, recorded by the very gracious Joe Shepherd at the Manassas Jazz Festival on December 1, 1978. I WANT TO BE HAPPY, with Billy Butterfield, Kenny Davern, Spiegel Willcox, Spencer Clark, Dick Wellstood, Marty Grosz, Van Perry, Tony Di Nicola.

The video quality is a little fuzzy, but the music is memorable and more.  And thank you, Dan, for insights and generosities.

May your happiness increase!

6 responses to “DAN MORGENSTERN RECALLS FIFTY-SECOND STREET, SIDNEY BECHET, DICK WELLSTOOD, KENNY DAVERN, ALONZO LEVISTER, KANSAS FIELDS, and MORE (April 21, 2017)

  1. Doug Pomeroy

    Thank you for another great interview with Dan, and a wonderful performance by a stellar group. Davern was famous for driving recording engineers crazy (and he did me), but I loved his playing. And we even had some interesting talks about Furtwangler! I never learned why he died so young after having left New York.

    Doug

  2. Mark Borowsky

    Wonderful interview with Dan, Michael. Cannot get enough of the Wellstood / Davern stories.

  3. Thank-You, Michael for this wonderful interview. I’m one of Dick Wellstood’s children. What touches me so deeply is the mention of my Mother, Flo. She was a beautiful woman, but also brilliant and creative. There is a giant hole in my heart where my Father and Mother belong. It is in my heart that I carry them. Stories/interviews like this mean the world to me. I see the little house in City Island, Dad’s place in Manasquan, smell and taste his Linguine with Clam Sauce and hers as well! I can see the Ferryboat and see his face as he “shushed” us before we listened to classical music after dinner. I think of him, forever grateful to be his daughter, forever regretful we didn’t have more time! Thank-You for the memories!

  4. Don "Zoot" Conner

    Thanks Michael for more of your fascinating interview with Dan. Needless to say I love Dan’s recollections I find his love of jazz and its disciples to be ongoing and delightful.

  5. Don "Zoot" Conner

    Thanks Michael for more of Dan’s remembrences; a fabulous memory and a unique way of getting his points across.

  6. Pingback: DAN MORGENSTERN, AMONG FRIENDS: DICK WELLSTOOD, BUZZY DROOTIN, GEORGE WEIN, MOREY FELD, ZUTTY SINGLETON, WILD BILL DAVISON, and a few words about TESCH, (April 21, 2017) | JAZZ LIVES

Leave a Reply

