HAVE YOU MET THE VIPER CLUB? JEROME ETCHEBERRY, TCHA LIMBERGER, DAVE KELBIE, SEBASTIEN GIRADOT (May 17, 2024)

This compact vibrant quartet delivers all the swing allowed by law and then some.

Superficially, they harken back to Stuff Smith and his Onyx Club Boys, but I also think of the recordings that brought together Bill Coleman or Louis Bacon, Stephane Grappelli, and Django Reinhardt. But you don’t need an advanced degree in Jazz Studies to love them.

The Club is Sebastien Giradot, double bass; Dave Kelbie, guitar; Tcha Limberger, violin and vocal; Jerome Etcheberry, trumpet. And the songs in this unfussy hot concert presentation (over ninety minutes) are 00:00 Lawd, You Made The Night Too Long 05:08 Onyx Club Spree 11:50 Undecided 15:40 My Walking Stick 22:00 Baby Brown 27:16 It’s Wonderful 33:39 I Hope Gabriel Likes My Music 39:20 Louisiana Fairy Tale 46:33 My Blue Heaven 50:39 Desert Sands 57:10 I Don’t Want To Make History (I Just Want To Make Love) 01:01:47 Ballin’ the Jack 01:06:00 T’ain’t No Use 01:17:30 After You’ve Gone 01:23:00 Someday You’ll Be Sorry 01:29:50 I’m Putting All My Eggs Into One Basket //

Now that you’ve enjoyed them for free, you should also know that they have recorded a marvelous CD called ‘T’AIN’T NO USE. Details here.

and

The Club brightens any day. Guaranteed.

May your happiness increase!

Leave a comment