BUCKY (January 9, 1926 – April 1, 2020)

Bucky Pizzarelli gave so generously of his sound, his melodic intelligence, his wit, his swing.  We could be forgiven for thinking we would always have him.  Here are two versions of TRES PALABRAS from the Atlanta Jazz Party, memorable in their quiet simple intensity.

2012, solo:

2014, accompanying and supporting Rebecca Kilgore, the two of them sending messages of love and loss to an absolutely hushed room:

I’ve  headed this sad post with a photograph of Bucky laughing, because that is how I remember him on the few occasions where we got to speak.  He was joyous and he shared his joys with us.

TRES PALABRAS, translated, “Bless Bucky Pizzarelli.”

I am omitting my customary closing: there isn’t much happiness to increase.  Perhaps tomorrow?

10 responses to “BUCKY (January 9, 1926 – April 1, 2020)

  1. Mark Voitenko

    I cherish the only time I got to see him perform, with Dick Hyman and others called The Statesmen of Jazz, at the 2006 Bix Fest in Davenport, Iowa.

  2. Francis Dance

    RIP, Bucky. Wonderful man and musician. This virus is taking so many greats. So sad.

  3. The Jazz Party in Minneapolis in ’91. Still remember how he stuck out, even with all of the great musicians that were there.

  4. Tito Battaglia

    RIP Bucky, one of my heroes. You had a long life, and a happy. Heaven has just become a more swinging place.

  5. Michael, so sorry, but so glad you sent this tribute out about Bucky.Another great loss. We saw him at Elkhart Jazz Fests a couple of times and chatted with him. So glad I have taped him working with Ed Laub. Michael, Please Stay  Well. Doug and Susanna W. from W. Va. 

  6. Susan Smith

    I have listened to his wonderful album ‘One Morning in May’ every morning, for years, and it always seems just as new and so beautiful,every time I play it. So sad to lose this wonderful man.

  7. Richard Salvucci

    I saw him in NYC and was so blown away I was grinning from ear to ear at him. He looked at me and grinned back.

  8. He was a dazzling expert, but he floated on joy — yours and his, his delight in the sounds he was making.

  9. Pingback: SPREADING JOY IN PHILADELPHIA with MARTY GROSZ, DANNY TOBIAS, RANDY REINHART, SCOTT ROBINSON, DAN BLOCK, JACK SAINT CLAIR, VINCE GIORDANO, JIM LAWLOR, BRENNAN ERNST (March 4, 2020) | JAZZ LIVES

  10. I heard Bucky live only once, c.a. 2005 at Joe Segal’s Jazz Showcase, sharing the bill with Scott Hamilton. Bucky lit up the stage! RIP, Bucky. And thanks for all the joy.

Leave a comment