TWELVE BARS FOR HARRIET CHOICE

The clock ticks on.

Harriet Choice moved to another neighborhood on July 13. She was 82, a figure that she didn’t like at all.

Others have written already about her making the Jazz Institute of Chicago a reality, her pioneering jazz advocacy for the Chicago Tribune, her travel writing. And a full tribute to her needs to be written. For the moment, this 2020 introduction by Neil Tesser — which Harriet got to read — will do.

I was only one of Harriet’s many friends, and I came late to the party. She found me in 2012 because of our mutual love of the Chicago clarinetist Frank Chace and I have 400+ emails to prove it; we spoke on the phone most recently on June 14. So those are my bona fides. But this is not a competition to be the one who knew her best: that honor would fall to Dan Morgenstern, who no doubt will have his own beutiful evocation.

Writing of W.B. Yeats, Richard Ellmann at first discusses what he called “friend-of” syndrome, when we celebrate someone in terms of their friendships, however glancing, with people even more famous. But in the world of jazz, where musicians are often suspicious or skeptical of “civilians,” the friendships Harriet had and maintained for decades are testimony to how deeply she was liked, admired, and honored as someone genuine and genuinely knowledgeable.

Harriet and I were (hard to not write “are” at this moment) enthusiasts, acolytes, hero-worshippers. So our phone conversations, which I am sorry I did not record at least one as a sample, would begin with her identifying herself in her up-and-down musical voice (even though the 312 area code and her name had already done the job). Then she might ask a question about some record or jazz luminary (even an obscure one) and I didn’t mind being a portable encyclopedia. She might relate some incident her much-loved but reasonably-untrainable dog, Mags, had precipitated.

Or she might speak of some Chicago gig she’d been to: perhaps Petra van Nuis’ Recession Seven, or something at the Jazz Showcase with Stu Katz, Eric Schneider, Andy Brown, or others. She always had news of Dan Morgenstern, our mutual friend and hero, to share, or of Kim Cusack or Andy Schumm (whose last name she rhymed with broom). Some record, new or old, that had caught her fancy, might be the next topic. She would remind me that her entry into jazz was Morton’s Victor DOCTOR JAZZ and ask me if I knew the verse. Morton led to Hines, and Hines to Louis. Case closed! But she loved what she called “bebop,” and admired the AACM.

When I could get a moment, I’d ask about her health, which was never all that good in the years I knew her, but she didn’t dwell on her problems. From Harriet, however, I learned what one’s ejection fraction was and what it meant. And the medical conversation would always loop around to dogs, and she would remind me that she preferred doctors who had dogs they loved.

Her Judaism was important to her; she was a serious (often indignant) leftist in politics, and she grew irate if there had been a news story where animals were ill-treated.

But the main course would be Stories of Heroes and Friends. The night Bobby Wright played stride piano for Muhal Richard Abrams. Muhal’s happy stint as Woody Herman’s pianist. Vic Dickenson’s magical touch with stuffed pork chops, and the way you knew you were a true friend of his, that he stored some pots and pans at your house and cooked dinner for you both.

George Finola and his NOLA escapades. Her part in getting Gene Ammons out of jail. Her Newport interlude — “under the influence” with Dizzy Gillespie and Bobby Hackett’s part in it all. Her Ellington connections: riding with Duke and Harry Carney, adoring Paul Gonsalves’ I’VE JUST SEEN HER. Roy Eldridge, Norm Murphy, Franz Jackson, Marty Grosz, Truck Parham, Frank Chace, and her long-time companion Wayne Jones. Gerry Mulligan, lightly clad, knocking on her hotel door. Miles Davis, first turning down an interview and then offering one.

Harriet’s friends accepted her affctionate imperiousness as part of the package. Put bluntly, she was bossy — and with me, it took the form of call after call hearing her tell me, over my protests, that my blog-pieces should be a book. I didn’t think I was Whitney Balliett, and said so, and returned to the limits of print media, reminding her that I couldn’t make video-performance leap out of a book. Or she would tell me half a dozen times about someone I should be interviewing, and on what subject. Once I lost my patience and we didn’t speak for a month or two. Another time, I simply said, “You were an editor. I don’t work for you. I’m not your employee.” Without more than an eighth-note’s pause, she replied, cheerily, “Well, you SHOULD be!” I had to laugh, and so did she.

She was gracious. She’d ask how my wife was faring or, before that, how the latest online date had gone. And if I’d written or posted something on this blog that she liked, she would tell me how she had sent it to friends. That was like a hug, and I would put down the phone, grinning. She wanted badly to come to New York and to see Dan. In her last year, she connected with Andy Senior and I urged her to write some of these stories for THE SYNCOPATED TIMES. Before that, I told her that she should have been working on a jazz memoir. But in the last two years, I had the sense of her energy running low. And now she’s gone.

I will miss her, and I know I am not alone.

Harriet was never maudlin, so I won’t “play her out” with a sad blues. But this is what came to my mind when I heard the news: a Decca date under the leadership of Joe Marsala with two of her favorites, Benny Carter and Bobby Hackett, romping on a fast twelve-bar blues. Other heroes are Pete Brown, Billy Kyle, Cozy Cole, and Hayes Alvis. And at the end, Marsala wails over a three-trumpet choir of Carter, Hackett, and Brown, that to me sums up swing.

Harriet always swung.

6 responses to “TWELVE BARS FOR HARRIET CHOICE

  1. This is a really beautiful tribute to an incredible person.

  2. I was always happy when Harriet liked a comment or chimed in on a post. She was sharp as a tack and we agreed on much in music. I will miss her posts and enthusiasm for others I appreciate. A great person and a sad loss.

  3. Harriet’s dear friend Jeff Lowenthal just sent me these touching words about Harriet, and I reprint them here with his permission.

    “I don’t like to get bad news from Facebook, and it was especially bad when I logged on, started my first cup of coffee and read RIP Harriet Choice.

    I knew Harriet was having serious health problems, but that was the way things were for the past year or so. I would remind her that I was three years older, and was still here.

    Of course that doesn’t matter now, and we have all lost a good friend.

    I knew Harriet since we met at the Roy Eldridge/Coleman Hawkins show Dan Morgenstern produced at WTTW, and we were friends ever since. We were both involved in the Jazz Institute but Harriet more than me.

    Harriet would call me three or four times a week, even more when I had some minor health issues of late, and of course we would also discuss her heallh issues. Sometimes too much, and I’d have to say “Harriet, we’ve spent half this call on Dr. Z, (her concierge doctor),” and then we‘d go back to music.

    We worked on a project together, a CD of Bob Wright. We searched for and assembled tracks we had recorded, and Dan Morgenstern convinced the best mastering guy to come out of retirement and master it for us. So we had a CD, and then we had to finds someone to issue it. We didn’t want a penny for our troubles, just to see it in print.

    So we went to Bob Koester at Delmark, and he agreed to do it. So I made the mistake of saying I wanted him to listen to something I had recorded, back in 1971. It was a fabulous Joe Segal concert with Sonny Stitt, Roy Haynes, Barry Harris and equally fanous sidemen. Bob really liked it and said “We’ll issue them both, but the bebop concert first because kids are discovering bebop….”

    And then he sold the company before we could get it out.

    You’d like it because there are a couple of Frank Chace appearances I recorded.

    Anyway, Harriet and I had a lot of history, and she was one of the special people in my life.

    Our loss…..”

  4. Thanks for a beautiful, heartfelt tribute to a great lady and dear friend.

  5. Thank YOU. Easy to tell the truth!

  6. She was a close friend of my partner, Jim Beebe. (Jim worked for her mom for a time) and remained friends with Harriet until his death; that’s when she and I started a friendship. I marvel at the interesting life she lead being an interviewer and jazz critic; and the many giants in jazz that she considered friends. I will miss our late night… I mean LATE night… phone chats that went on till she fell asleep… or I did. She was fun and funny and serious. I will miss her in my life.

Leave a comment