Daily Archives: June 22, 2024

“HOW DOES YOUR GARDEN GROW?”: JIM CUNNINGHAM, SID DAWSON, FRANK CHACE, MARTY GROSZ, MEL GRANT, JIM WIGGINS, BOB COUSINS (Chicago, c. 1955)

A new friend at the Chicago Film Archives contacted me with a nearly eight-minute film clip I had never seen before and asked my help in identifying the musicians. In turn, I showed it to Hal Smith, the scholarly percussionist, and we came up with the following personnel: Jim Cunningham, cornet; Sid Dawson, trombone; Frank Chace, clarinet; Marty Grosz, guitar; Mel Grant, piano; Jim Wiggins, double bass; Bob Cousins, drums.

It would have been enough to have a new recording by these artists. To see them on film is just too much. You can read all about the gardening show that was the backdrop for this interlude, and watch the film here.

My friend at the CFA (to whom we extend our thanks) tells me that there are several different versions of this episode . . . I will share them with you when they appear. Until then, you’ll find me and the OAO at the most flourishing garden center, buying plants and hoping for a hot-jazz renaissance.

May your happiness increase!