WHAT HAPPENED IN SEDALIA: ANDREW OLIVER, ANDY SCHUMM, HAL SMITH (May 31, 2024)

I don’t have much to say about the performance that follows except to suggest that the children be in another room, the breakables be secured, and that your seat belt be low and tight around your hips. This music is joyously seismic.

The song is Jelly Roll Morton’s FROGGIE MOORE RAG, apparently named for a vaudeville contortionist, performed by Andrew Oliver, piano; Andy Schumm, clarinet; Hal Smith, drums, at the fiftieth annual Scott Joplin International Ragtime Festival that happened this past weekend in Sedalia, Missouri.

It was a high point: simultaneously explosive and scholarly. You’ll understand:

I hope you played and viewed that glorious eruption at suitable volume and size. It is larger than the screen of your smartphone; it really requires one of those television sets that people watch football on — but it’s all up to you.

After that, there was a pause for the volunteers to check the tent poles to reassure us that the tent was still moored to the ground. Then the Joplin International Ragtime Festival went on sending delightful sounds all over the city. And now, all over the world, I hope.

Now, say hello to Mister Moore again. He deserves it.

May your happiness increase!

5 responses to “WHAT HAPPENED IN SEDALIA: ANDREW OLIVER, ANDY SCHUMM, HAL SMITH (May 31, 2024)

  1. Mark A Voitenko

    That tune has been in my head since hearing it–for the first time, I believe–on Friday. It may stay as long as it likes.

  2. You are a gracious host indeed.

  3. David Sager

    Fabulous! Probably the best version of Froggie Moore I have ever heard. That kind of energy and cohesion is rare and does not come easily performing outdoors and under a tent.

  4. And Reb Sager knows (because he does!). Thank you —-

  5. Ida Melrose Shoufler

    Three of the best! I’ve listened to this three times and these musicians are awesome! Great version of Froggie Moore! Nephew Hal sent me a message asking me if I heard the video you made of Andrew Oliver and him playing Jelly Roll Stomp. I haven‘t. but would love to hear it. Thank you dear

Leave a comment