“DANCING ON THE WILD EDGE”: RAY SKJELBRED and THE CUBS, OUT IN THE OPEN (Part One: July 12, 2014)

Without even bothering to look it up, I can say that July 12, 2014 was a beautiful day in Sonoma, California. You can see it on the videos that follow, but know that the air at Cline Cellars was full of music. I had the good fortune to be there while Ray Skjelbred and the Cubs were playing and singing.

At that time, the Cubs were Ray, piano, vocal, and directions (“Turn left at the third chorus and think of 35th and Calumet before proceeding.”); Katie Cavera, banjo, guitar, vocal; Clint Baker, double bass and vocal; Jeff Hamilton, drums; Kim Cusack, clarinet and vocal.

Nearly ten years later, all of the Cubs are here except for Kim. We miss him intensely, and this post is in his honor. I discovered these videos a few weeks ago and could hardly believe the treasure I had unwittingly been keeping hidden. I recorded two whole sets, so now I can rectify my unintentional selfishness, and hope that you will come back with me to Cline for the inspiring, hot, sweet, and vividly swinging music.

I FOUND A NEW BABY:

IDA (for Ida Melrose Shoufler, but of course):

Kim sings, inimitably, NOBODY’S SWEETHEART NOW (or, more accurately, NAOW):

BULL FROG BLUES:

ANY TIME, ANY DAY, ANYWHERE, sung by Ray in honor of Lee Wiley:

WAILING BLUES, for Frank Melrose:

Katie offers I’LL BET YOU TELL THAT TO ALL THE GIRLS, which sure sounds good to us:

Finally, THE WORLD IS WAITING FOR THE SUNRISE:

Oh, do they rock! And this may strike some as self-referential, what a thrill for me to be there, with good sight lines, clear ringing sound, a camera without mechanical rebelliousness and batteries determined to give their all. You can’t imagine, or maybe you can.

There’s another set to enjoy. But I hope you vibrate to this one. And, by the way, bless these lovely creators.

May your happiness increase!

One response to ““DANCING ON THE WILD EDGE”: RAY SKJELBRED and THE CUBS, OUT IN THE OPEN (Part One: July 12, 2014)

  1. Ida Melrose Shoufler

    No one could even begin to imagine how much hearing, and seeing Ray Skjelbred and the band play means to me. Ray probably knows more about my father than any one else I know. He fast became a very favorite musician in my life. Listen and you’ll understand why. Thank you so very much for the attention you gave to me and my father, my dear Nephew.

Leave a comment