JOYOUS PLENITUDE (Part One): BOB WILBER, JON-ERIK KELLSO, MARTY GROSZ, VINCE GIORDANO (Jazz at Chautauqua, Sept. 21, 2008)

Evoking this, nearly seventy years later:

in this wonderful place.  Magical indeed.

It was a Sunday morning, 10:30 or so, and perhaps half of the audience was deep in contemplation of their breakfasts on September 21, 2008.

But magic larger than bacon and coffee was being revealed to us. We can revisit it now: festival director Joe Boughton’s idea to recreate the Bechet-Spanier Big Four of Blessed Memory (1940, Hot Record Society: Sidney Bechet, Muggsy Spanier, Carmen Mastren, Wellman Braud) with living Masters: Bob Wilber, clarinet and soprano; Jon-Erik Kellso, trumpet; Marty Grosz, guitar; Vince Giordano, string bass.  Five songs were performed, each a Hot Benediction:

I had no video empire then — no collection of cameras, tripods, batteries, external hard drives — and I recorded this quite surreptitiously.  But I didn’t want it to vanish.  For you, for me, forevermore.

May your happiness increase!

10 responses to “JOYOUS PLENITUDE (Part One): BOB WILBER, JON-ERIK KELLSO, MARTY GROSZ, VINCE GIORDANO (Jazz at Chautauqua, Sept. 21, 2008)

  1. Dear friend ,thank you for remembering..Sadly since my beautiful man died I have been unable to listen to any jazz…It was my life,since ‘We Called It Music’,’Really The Blues ‘&-as a very young 14 year old…Meeting Bob in 1957 in England & becoming a couple in 1976 our relationship was 24/7 & we cherished every minute-hours on flights, sitting around in airports & train stations,tables for two & the many many happy years together at home-the two or myriad friends!….
    I sent a message on facebook..re..what would I like to be in the next life…As a full time women’s libber I would be thrilled to be the wife of Bob Wilber …That was a real career!!!!!!!…

  2. Fantastic, full of energy & emotion, like everything Bob Wilber did- loved him & Kenny Davern since 1st encounter at 1978 Gibson Party. Great to hear from Pug. Bob one of most gracious musicians one could meet.
    Thanks so much- would love to have more!

  3. There are four performances to come . . . stay tuned!

  4. Pingback: REWARDING PROXIMITY (Part Two): BOB WILBER, JON-ERIK KELLSO, MARTY GROSZ, VINCE GIORDANO (Jazz at Chautauqua, Sept. 21, 2008) | JAZZ LIVES

  5. We owe you so much, Michael!

  6. I’m only the megaphone, but thank you! Love to you and Ingrid!

  7. Ida Melrose Shoufler

    I agree with Jim Denham, Michael. We owe you so much, I don’l comment much anymore because of my eyes, but there is nothing wrong with my ears, and I listen and I enjoy so much, Thank you Nephew

  8. Pingback: Watch Selections from Jazz at Chautauqua 2008 & 2009 - NYSMusic - State of Jazz

  9. Pingback: Watch Selections from Jazz at Chautauqua 2008 & 2009 - NYSMusic - Music Industry

  10. Pingback: Watch Selections from Jazz at Chautauqua 2008 & 2009 - NYS Music

Leave a comment