“A WEE SPONTANEOUS INTERNATIONAL BAND”: ALI AFFLECK with THE RHYTHM RASCALS: ANDY SCHUMM, LUCAS FERRARI, ROY PERCY, JACOB ULLBERGER (November 2023)

I checked my phone this morning at breakfast, as one does (I can remember life pre-smartphone, but that’s an Andy Rooney essay) and saw that the soulful Ali Affleck had shared a performance of UNTIL THE REAL THING COMES ALONG with the Rhythm Rascals, who were Lucas Ferrari, piano; Jacob Ullberger, guitar and banjo; Roy Percy, double bass; Andy Schumm, clarinet and cornet. I didn’t inspect the personnel and just played the video through the phone next to my breakfast.

What soulful passionate intensity! No gimmicks, no trickery, just a deep message aimed right at us.

And when it was over and I could once again form words, I said to the OAO, seated near me, “Well, that’s my post for today.” So here it is:

Ali Affleck is a great artist, and I do not write those words casually. She tells her truth and it moves us. That’s rare and precious.

And the band! Four heroes in emotional and musical unity.

But wait! There’s more! How about Jelly’s mournful warning, half-lament and half “I wouldn’t do that if I were you,” DON’T YOU LEAVE ME HERE.

The backdrop isn’t Storyville (it’s far too clean and tidy) but the ambiance is deep New Orleans at night:

Today’s homework: do share these unaffected masterpieces with the people who will get them. And since there’s no tip jar visible, please subscribe to www.youtube.com/@Aliaffleck. Surely this audience can make that number a wee bit larger.

And in return, the generous Alison will share more music with us. Deal?

May your happiness increase!

Leave a comment