LOUIS, 1947, CARNEGIE HALL, TRIUMPHANT

louis-1947

Exultant, too!  That’s Ed Hall on the left, Henderson Chambers on the right.  Was this taken by William P. Gottlieb?  It wouldn’t surprise me.  We owe the photographer heartfelt thanks.

What we owe Louis goes beyond words.

3 responses to “LOUIS, 1947, CARNEGIE HALL, TRIUMPHANT

  1. Excellent picture! By Gottlieb indeed, dated c. Feb 47.

  2. Just read that the Melbourne International Jazz Festival launched their program. You should check it out. I think you’ll be really impressed.
    http://www.melbournejazz.com

  3. I was there, and I can tell you that the color of that suit Louis was wearing was what you’d call a dazzling “powder blue.” The NY Daily News posed him in that same suit on the cover of their Sunday roto magazine insert, which I cut out and kept. That was the concert introduced by the deejay Fred Robbins, which Louis opened with “Potato Head Blues”.

Leave a comment