EXPANDING THE COMMUNITY, or WELCOME, KELLEY!

I think of the small group of people who are so devoted to jazz that they become video archivists as a dear community.  None of this “standing on the shoulders of giants” for me, because my balance is not so good when I am standing in that way.  Merely envisioning this gives me vertigo.

No, my image is a small circle of people holding hands, close enough to look in each others’ eyes and grin, proud of their own work and happy that others are doing it as well.  Here are a few friends I know personally, who have done so much to make the music accessible to people who can’t be everywhere.

My first role model was — and continues to be — the diligent Rae Ann Hopkins Berry, the reigning monarch of California Hot.  Since March 2008, she’s kept up a steady flow of videos on her YouTube channel.  I was inspired by her and continue to be so, even though I am no longer in California.  The people I first thought as the dear heroes of music I saw on her videos.

I started videoing on YouTube a bit later, and my first videos were of David Ostwald’s Gully Low Jazz Band / Louis Armstrong Centennial Band / Louis Armstrong Eternity Band in October 2008.  And I upload while you are sleeping, often while I, too, am sleeping.

New friends and videographers came along.  Eric Devine, the master of multiple cameras, who’s known as CineDevine, creates very polished videos at concerts, parties, and festivals from New England to Florida.  He started in 2008, too, although we continue to have an older brother – younger brother relationship when we talk shop.

A few years later, the Michigander flautist and friend of jazz Laura Beth Wyman set up shop in the Ann Arbor, Michigan area, and has provided JAZZ LIVES with so many gorgeous videos of Professor James Dapogny and friends that she was asked to be the Chief of the Michigan Bureau, a task she accepted with great grace.

The newest member of the hand-holding video community is very welcome: her name is Kelley Rand and although her first videos have only shown up on Facebook about a week ago, her work is astonishing.  For one thing, she is getting splendid results with her iPhone (which means that, unlike me, she is not carrying an eighteen-pound knapsack of cameras) and she has made about a half-dozen astonishing videos in New Orleans.  Several feature the ever-astonishing Dick Hyman and the melodic wonder Tim Laughlin in duet: WHO’S SORRY NOW, ONE HOUR, A NIGHTINGALE SANG IN BERKELEY SQUARE, and Hyman solos on JITTERBUG WALTZ and S’WONDERFUL.  She’s also captured Tim and the brilliant young pianist Kris Tokarski in performance at the Bombay Club: IF DREAMS COME TRUE, LOVE NEST, OH DADDY BLUES, RIVERBOAT SHUFFLE.

Since I am in New Orleans once a year, so far, at most, I have appointed her the Chief of the Louisiana Bureau.  She will only find this out when she reads this far, and I hope she agrees.  The health benefits are not delineated in any contract: they simply mean that more people will get to know her, thank her, and appreciate her diligence and generosities.

The nicest part of all this is that we all respect each other, make subtle courteous agreements not to step on each others’ turf, get in each others’ shots, and so on. We are united in the name of MUSIC, and the deep notion that as many people should get to enjoy it as possible.  And we capture the evanescent and make it tangible, even eternal.

And — as an afterthought — I know there are many people videoing at clubs and concerts around the world, and I mean them no offense by not including them here.  But these four people are dear to me, and I am proud to know them.

May your happiness increase!

8 responses to “EXPANDING THE COMMUNITY, or WELCOME, KELLEY!

  1. joel albert

    You and friends named are in a very appreciated club. Noted that Ms Rand shot w/iPhone. I used it to record a band recently and was floored by the quality coming out of that little thing. Of course, this i novice shot it upside down but that’s the front portion of the learning curve for you. Will now look into bracket to keep the little shaky thing fixed to a monopod and rightside up. Thanks all for making these great performances shareable.

  2. joel albert

    Oh, btw, was the Dick Hyman/Tim Laughlin salon duet shot at Tim’s apartment?

  3. House, I believe.

  4. Kelley Rand

    Thank you, Michael! I am truly humbled and honored. My father almost always had a camcorder going and taught me the importance of capturing these magical moments…otherwise, they’re lost for all time.

    I’ll do my best to make you proud. I love your blog, videos, and sincerely appreciate your friendship.

  5. Kelley Rand

    Yes, Joel…It’s a part of Tim Laughlin’s Salon Concert Series at his lovely home.

  6. I’m already proud.

  7. Thank you so much for the links, Michael. I have enjoy Rae Ann’s videos so much, for several years. I just enjoyed, with the same enthusiasm, listening to some great music on Kelly Rand’s page. Now I am off to see what other treasures you have led me to with these awesome links. Thank you again, NM.

  8. Pingback: EXPANDING THE COMMUNITY, or WELCOME, KELLEY! | Denton Jazz Chronicles

Leave a comment