“WON’T YOU COME ALONG WITH ME?”: PISMO JAZZ JUBILEE BY THE SEA (October 25-28, 2018)

I’m going to my first Jazz Jubilee by the Sea (although I have visited Pismo, California, once before) for hot jazz, floating swing, gritty blues, tender ballads, and good times among friends this October.

I can now spend the time between late August and late October figuring how I will see my favorite bands.  There are twenty-plus bands and guest stars, a cornucopia of jazz and other musics.  Here are some of the august participants, listed as they appear on the flyer:

Professor Cunningham and His Old School • Larry Scala, Dawn Lambeth, and Friends • The Shake ‘Em Up Jazz Band • Tom Rigney and Flambeau • Blue Street • Cornet Chop Suey • High Sierra • Midiri Brothers • Tom Hook and the Terriers • Dick Williams Jammers • We Three + One • Ivory&Gold® • Creole
Syncopators • Rag Bone Saints • Mariachi Autlence • High Street
Party Band • The Au Brothers • Sue Palmer and Her Motel
Swing Orchestra • Night Blooming Jazzmen • Ulysses
Jasz Band.
SPECIAL SETS WITH GUEST ARTISTS
Bob Draga • Carl Sonny Leyland • Larry Scala • Dawn Lambeth •
Jeff Barnhart • Danny Coots • Washboard Steve • Pat Yankee •
Bob Schulz • Paul Ingle • Danny Tobias • Chloe Feoranzo.

Now, if you’ve been reading JAZZ LIVES for any length of time, you can recognize the names of my friends and heroes above.  I will be there to celebrate them and hear new bands and new combinations, as is my habit and sometimes good fortune.

Here’s a promotional video from 2016 — an audio-visual tasting menu:

and one of my happy souvenirs of good times in Pismo — a 2014 concert by Clint Baker, Marc Caparone, Dawn Lambeth, Mike Baird, Carl Sonny Leyland, Bill Reinhart, Jeff Hamilton:

I hope to see you there for some good sounds.  Here is the Jubilee website, and here is their Facebook page.  It would be pleasing if you said “JAZZ LIVES sent me,” if, in fact, I did.  It’s too early to start charging camera batteries, but I assure you that my psychic ones are at full capacity.

May your happiness increase!

8 responses to ““WON’T YOU COME ALONG WITH ME?”: PISMO JAZZ JUBILEE BY THE SEA (October 25-28, 2018)

  1. Laurie Whitlock

    Jubilee by the Sea was the very first Festival I attended, it was-in the main- the reason for my total downfall. I loved the funky venues. I loved the high energy, friendly, talented groups that appeared there. I loved the comradery of the audience, who enfolded me into their family. This Festival is not the easiest to get around in and the venues may not be the most efficient, the sound the very best, and the seating the most comfortable-but the enthusiasm and the quality of the music and the musicians in unsurpassed. I was a mere girl that first time, and now I can no longer attend physically, but my heart will always belong with that first love. The gorgeous sunsets. The craziness of getting together and being silly. Finding true love among the many people that I met there. The beginning of a 30 plus year journey into the joy of my life- the Music and the people who make it, who listen to it and who love it as I do. Michael, I am so happy that you will be attending. I only hope that you come away with as many warm and beautiful memories as I have of the event. I am, at heart a country girl so I was especially at home in the “down-home” feel of the Pismo Jubilee. You are more of a posh New York fella but I know there is a bit of down-home in your heart so go! Have fun! Fall in Love with the town and the folks. Eat a clam and bask in the glow of sunset over the Pacific. Sending you love and hugs to pass around. Laurie

  2. Let me put it in print for all to see: LAURIE WHITLOCK HAS A HUGE HEART.

  3. Dan Morgenstern

    Is this the home of Pismo Clam of “Bank Dick” fame?

    >

  4. To wuote the late Lennie Kunstadt, “RESEARCH!”

  5. Useful information. Lucky me I discovered your site accidentally, and I am stunned why this twist of fate did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  6. Laurie, Thank you for your lovely memory of your times at the Jazz Jubilee in Pismo. We have now expanded to Arroyo Grande but still, have the tent on the boardwalk. We made the tent bigger and the banquet room at the SeaCrest Hotel is bigger. We still have that hometown friendliness but our venues are more comfortable. This will be one of our best years yet! Sorry you can’t come but the memories will always stay in our hearts.
    Linda Shorb, Jubilee Committee Member.

  7. Thanks Laurie, I can’t wait to arrive again from Australia to entertain the great audiences at the Jazz Jubilee in Pismo. Will be great and thanks to the wonderful committee for my invitation.
    Paul Ingle

  8. Pingback: EXTRA! EXTRA! HOT TIMES IN PISMO (Jazz Jubilee by the Sea, October 25-18, 2018) | JAZZ LIVES

Leave a comment